Last updated 1 August 2018

Authorised celebrants within Australia who can solemnise a marriage fall into three categories:

  • ministers of religion of recognised denominations
  • marriage celebrants (including ministers of religion of non-recognised denominations, and religious celebrants)
  • state and territory officers.

The Marriage Act 1961 (Cth) includes certain amendments to provide protections for ministers of religion, religious marriage celebrants and bodies established for religious purposes to act in accordance with their religious beliefs (ss 47, 47A and 47B Marriage Act).